weneedawife

No More Excuses

In Uncategorized on September 19, 2011 at 8:43 pm

Last week I talked about how my heart and head couldn’t be trusted when it comes to reaching my goals.

They don’t like change and I’m not far behind them.  Change is hard, there is a risk involved and there is a shock to our brains.

I remember when I was starting to run, my plan was to work my way up to two miles.  I would run (slowly jog was more like it) 1/4 mile, walk 1/4 mile and so on until I accomplished two miles.  Then, after doing that a week, my plan was to run 1/2 of a mile, walk 1/2 and so on.   Well, one day I just decided to try the whole two miles at once…and…I did it!!

It was by no means pretty, I was extremely sweaty with a very red face and I felt like all my limbs were flopping around but….I did it!

Uh oh!

I knew if I did it once, I could do it again…sorta good news and bad news.   I had thebigrocks.comno more excuses!  No more “working my way up”, I had proof that I could do it!  I could no longer go back to 1/4 and 1/4 or 1/2 and 1/2, my new starting point was now two miles!

We are taught to break our goals in to small measurable steps, and I agree with that… most of the time.

Sometimes, I think it is better to just go for it….all of it…at once!!

What do we have to lose by stretching ourselves and doing more than we though possible?  By pushing ourselves?

After I was running three miles on a regular basis, I would talk to people who were in much better shape that me, and they would say, “Oh, I can’t, I just can’t get past a mile.”.  My advice was always the same, “Do two miles at one time, it is mental, not physical.”.

We have all heard the quote by Henry Ford, “Whether you think that you can, or that you can’t, you are usually right.”

Do what you can, as soon as you can and don’t let your brain limit you!!

  1. Love this. We so limit ourselves. Really when we do the opposite– which is expect, anticipate, the unexpected–we can accomplish anything. What holds us back? Mostly is is us….

Leave a Reply

